REVIEWS




May 13th, 2019


The people are great, the facilities are great, the food is good, organisation is good; overall I had an amazing experience and would love to go back. Its a great place for hard-workers and open-minded people, and its a great place to create unique memories.

- Aymara

May 14th, 2019
Aymara
Thanks so much for the nice review. It means a lot to me to hear you had a wonderful experience. You better come back! We all look forward to seeing you again soon. Pura Vida! Vanessa


May 13th, 2019


I had such a great experience!!! Staff is very very kind and friendly, love them all! I had the transportation at the time and location I needed. The place is amazing, with so many beautiful trees and plants, so many birds, nice rooms with comfortable beds. I had vegan options in all my meals. Love all the animals at the rescue center, they get really good care and love. Met so many wonderful people. This is an experience everyone should have in life. Just loved it, highly recomended!

- Barbara

May 14th, 2019
Barbara. Thanks for the great review. As much as you loved the Rescue we loved having you here more. We hope to see you again in the near future. The staff and animals will miss you! Pura Vida! Vanessa


May 13th, 2019


Ive really enjoyed my time at the Costa Rica Animal Rescue Center. As a volunteer you follow a diverse program which include feeding, cleaning and enrichment tasks. The accommodation is clean and modern. There are hammocks, a pool and a little library. Every day you receive 3 home cooked meals. Truly delicious! The staff is open to ideas and suggestions. Great environment where the focus is on the recovery and wellbeing of the animals.

- Andrea

May 14th, 2019
Andrea. Thanks so much for the kind review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Your hard work and dedication will not be forgotten. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Pura Vida! Vanessa


May 13th, 2019


Had an amazing time, loved everything about it! Lovely food and I loved that they catered for vegans :) the trips were fab and well priced and transport to and from the airport made travelling on my own so much easier and relaxing. The animals were just gorgeous and I was so sad to leave them and all the friends I made from around the world. I will definitely be back! Thank you for the best 3 weeks.

- Megan

May 14th, 2019
Megan
Its really nice to hear you had such a great time. We enjoyed having you part of the team. We cant wait to have you back. Pura Vida! Vanessa


February 27th, 2019


I pass 2 nights at the rescue and it was amazing i wich i could stay a few more days it was a great opportunity to be close to many animals and taking care of them is what i had prefer. The food was cook by a gentle men super friendly and it was delicious at every meal! Now i want to make my own bread to! I dont think of something to improve it was perfect! I think you should have a few items to sell with your logo not only for publicity but yo help you to raise money for the shelter (i bought a nice green bag) the fact that the transport was included make the decision easy to chose your shelter as well as your flexibility to accept people only for 2 days. I hope i will come back with my friend Veronique she loved the place also! Thank you for that nice adventure... before i left i been took in picture by ..not sure how to write her name.. Shiabone C . With my friend and the Sloth i would realy like to have the picture she said she would send it to us it was january 27th Emilie from Montreal Qc Canada

- Emilie

March 4th, 2019
Emilie
Thank you so much for the great review. We loved having you as part of the team. We did send your postcard. It will arrive to your home and it looks great. Please come back soon!

Pura Vida!

Vanessa Lizano
Emilie March 5th, 2019
Thank you i received my post card guess it was stock in a snow storm!
March 6th, 2019
Your welcome! We hope to see you again soon.


February 10th, 2019


I went with my daughter to the Costa Rica Animal Rescue Center today. I love how organized and clean the place is, and how much love and dedication is given to each one of the rescued animals! The enclosures are huge and filled with toys and fresh organic food ❤️

- Francesca F

December 26th, 2018


I absolutely loved everything about it. Such a friendly, fun and peaceful place. Adored Mikey, Nugget, Ninoshka, Rice&Beans, and so many others. Thanks so much for making my stay a very memorable one!

- Yigit

January 2nd, 2019
Yigit. Thanks so much for the kind words. The animals and all of us here at CRARC appreeciate it. We miss you and hope to see you again soon.

Vanessa


February 8th, 2018


Excellent!

- 7 Vidas Bellas Artes

December 13th, 2018


I think a beautiful place where an exemplary work is done

- Eliecer Villalobos

December 28th, 2017


Really amazing facility. The showers are cold and there is a lot of work to be done, but we go there to volunteer and help the animals so thats to be expected. Serita (the volunteer coordinator) is very sweet and always goes above and beyond to make sure the volunteers are comfortable and feel confident with the tasks they are assigned. This place doesnt receive any other help other than from the volunteers that go to help, and they are still so positive and work so hard to help the animals. If you get a chance to go and help please do. Also the food is really good lol

- Julio Quinones

January 8th, 2018


It has been a wonderful experience, I met such inspiring people and was able to work hard to help the animals there everyday and learn so much about every single one of them!

- Elisa Leimer

September 10th, 2018


Community was wonderful, the work was wonderful. If you love supporting a good cause and making sure the rescue animals are well cared for, this place is for you. THIS IS NOT A STAY-IN PETTING ZOO! If youre coming here with the intent to hold a sloth or a parrot, look elsewhere. Its not going to happen here. These animals have been rescued (many of them from horrible things) and they deserve our utmost respect. Go here with the intent to care for those who cannot care for themselves. Youll be richly rewarded ❤️

- Jayme

October 23rd, 2018


My 15 year old son and I spent a week volunteering at the Center in June, and we have nothing but positive things to say. The owners are wonderful people who are committed to preserving and caring for the welfare of all of the animals. The vet team was dedicated and well-trained, and the permanent staff - from the animal tenders to the kitchen staff - were universally kind and helpful (even though we spoke virtually no Spanish). There were volunteers from all over the world when we were there, and we created relationships that will last for years. Despite dealing with challenging government bureaucracy, the owners have been able to maintain high standards of animal care. This is not a petting zoo, so don’t volunteer if you’re just looking to hug a sloth. The volunteers are there to ensure that the animals are being taken of. This involves feeding, watering, and making enrichment items. While you may get up close and personal with some of them, you aren’t allowed to touch the sloths (the common denominator for why most volunteers choose this center). The nominal cost of $35 per day includes a bunk, bedding, and 3 meals. Very reasonable. They also offer day excursions once volunteers have spent a week working (there is a fee for these). Volunteers who stay for several weeks are sometimes offered leadership positions with new volunteers. The system is well-maintained and consistent, so it was a great benefit to have other volunteers be so knowledgeable when we arrived. The pool was a nice diversion. You have to get creative with your free time, so bring your writing or sketch pad, your camera or book. Take a walk to the store that’s a mile down the road, create toys for the animal habitats or grab some paint and spruce things up around the Center. I’m thinking about taking a group of students to do service work here next year, and I’ve invited my college-age son to volunteer over his winter break. This is a memory I’ll always cherish, and I hope to return again soon.

- Constance Morris

December 14th, 2017


Excelente y precioso lugar Excellent and beautiful place

- Steven Leiton Garcia

February 4th, 2018


Es como estar en familia......... Con un toque animal !!! Its like being in family ......... With an animal touch!

- Federico Chinchilla

February 22nd, 2018


J’ai passé plus d’un mois au rescue center en tant que bénévole, cest un lieu merveilleux et très enrichissant. Qui aide à sauver et soigner de nombreux animaux. Une expérience inoubliable. I spent more than a month at the rescue center as a volunteer, it is a wonderful and very rewarding. That helps to save and care for many animals. An unforgettable experience.

- Willy Weppe

June 14th, 2018


Excellent place for the rescue and protection of animals.

- Jose Manuel Salazar Porras

December 29th, 2016


Such a beautiful place where you can tell they really care about the animals. We werent sure about the minimum commitment of one week, but could definitely have stayed longer

- Zoe Lehner

December 7th, 2016


Absolutely amazing place. Ive just got back from 3 weeks working with them and enjoyed every second of it. They are very dedicated to the animals in their care and show nothing but love and compassion for them all. They have just moved to a new premises and it is stunning. Lots of big enclosures for the animals and plenty of space for voulenteers to explore. Would highly recommend this place and plan on visiting agin in the very near future.

- Bil Mcc

December 9th, 2017


We were only able to spend a few days here, but are dying to go back. We had a great time, with great people, all of whom were dedicated to improving the lives of the animals. Everyone is split into teams, and each team is responsible for a set of tasks for the morning and a different set of tasks for the afternoon. The tasks range from preparing the food for the animals, to delivering to their cages, to working on various projects around the grounds. The tasks for each team rotate daily. On top of these tasks the volunteers are encouraged to come up with and act on their ideas for improving the lives of the animals. Some examples of what we saw and/or helped with were making a mud pit for the pigs, a grass bed for the goat, toys for the kinkajou or howler monkeys, and weaving palm leaves to give shade for the sloth enclosures.

- Andrew Fisher

December 20th, 2017


Best place to work with rescue animals. Hard work, cold showers, and the best people you could ever hope to meet.

- Jamie Myer

January 11th, 2018


Lovely people, fun and meaningful experience to be shared to contribute volunteering there. Highly recommended

- Caroline Kohl

April 17th, 2018


This was such an amazing experience. You must be willing to work, its worth it.

- Lauren Lucky

February 6th, 2018


I spent one week volunteering there. I went there to please my girlfriend, but I actually had a very nice stay. Animals and people working there were really interesting. The work seemed helpful and the living conditions are comfortable with good food and a pool ! I recommend this place...

- Entienne Rogier

September 3rd, 2018


Great time, loved being so close to the animals!!

- Bentou Kaba

August 15th, 2018


IN LOVE WITH THIS CENTER!! Much of the center is decorated with hand painted signs from volunteers, which adds a cute little flair to this place. You can also tell that the animals are cared for very well.

- Julia Skorb



Costa Rica Animal Rescue Center Trip Advisor Reviews